Korean Arcade Life: What We Really Do On Weekends

Korea has a rich arcade scene. It’s traditional for people to live with their families well into their 20’s, so places to hang out are limited to shopping areas, cafes, and arcades. I don’t mind this at all, since arcades in America are all but nonexistent! In Korea, an arcade essentially functions as a Dave & Buster’s. Here, you can gamble your coins for candy, sing karaoke, fail at endless claw machines, and waste at least $50. Men are always vying for the biggest stuffed animal win, and will inexplicably keep feeding coins into the machines until their girlfriend is satisfied at their hunting prowess. Did I mention the  punching machines that further test the male ego? Honestly, the owners of arcades are experts in the human condition if you ask me.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Korean Arcade Life: What We Really Do On Weekends

  1. I loved going to the arcades with my friends. Sadly my arcade buddies have left korea.

    • The beauty of arcades is that the only friend you need to enjoy them is a 500 won coin! 🙂

      …Why do I feel like my grammar is completely jacked up in this sentence…

  2. Hi Anna 🙂 Can you tell me where in Seoul you can easily find these claw machines?

Have something to say?